Botswana Tswana word meaning "land of the Tswana" the name of the main ethnic group, officially the Republic of Botswana, the Tswana Lefatshe Botswana is a country in Southern Africa without access to the sea, surrounded by the South Africa to the south and southeast, Namibia to the west, Zambia to the north and Zimbabwe to the northeast. The inhabitants are called Batswana. Formerly the British protectorate of Bechuanaland was. Botswana adopted its name after becoming independent within the Commonwealth on September 30, 1966. Its capital is Gaborone. Its economy, mainly related to its South African neighbor, is dominated by services (43% in share of GDP in 1999), mining (48%), industry (4%) and agriculture (5%). The rate of transparency in 2011 was 6.1 (5.4 in 2007) on a scale of 10, making Botswana the country by far the least corrupt of africain1,2 continent. The country is regularly placed first among African countries in terms of governance and transparency (30th out of 174 countries in the 2012 Index of perception of corruption of Transparency International) 3. This country is nicknamed "African miracle", "except the continent" and "Switzerland of Africa".

  • Partager :